Travel Tuesday The first.

Hey! It’s not even Tuesday! I know, but I’ll do my travelupdates on Tuesdays, and last Tuesday started everything for me to write this one. The first and the Ultimate of travelblogs, as it’s the first time I’m travelling all by myself.

Sitting in the lounge of a hostel in Sydney (oh yeah, that’s the other side of the world!), in just a couple of hours, I found a Dutch guy, German girl, UK represents and there’s a group of French guys playing ping pong across the room. This is my trip so far.

It all started a long long time ago, or so it seems, at Schiphol Airport. Tears. Saying goodbye sucks! After security found my first delay, luckily I had Vince there to talk to and he got a rental car in London, because we had to get from London Stansted to London Heathrow. Yay fun! We encountered some snow on the way there, but it was actually quite alright. I think we got to Heathrow at about 4 in the afternoon and the long wait, I mean, the long trip started. We didn’t board until 9. Another delay. On the plane to Shanghai I met Joe and Gemma, two of the UK represents. Funny how we sort of found each other and how our travelplans are so similar and yet so different from one another. By the way, the plane dinner was pretty good – Beef Noodles. The omelette/quiche for lunch (the next day) was a little less to my liking… And then we arrived in Shanghai…

Shanghai Airport was horrible, a right nightmare! Customs first let some people through with or without giving them a boarding pass for their transferflight, and then decided to take the passport of everyone that was transferring, throw them on a big pile and randomly selecting passports to check out. And then not remembering which stamp needed to go in which passport. In the end it all turned out alright, as the plane to Sydney was also delayed.

After a flight that consisted of sleeping or trying to sleep, we arrived in Sydney this morning at 11. Had a wander around the hostel, and walked up to Darling Harbour. Now, I think it’s time to go to sleep, my legs hurt like hell, and I just keep on yawning. Tomorrow I want to go up to the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. See what happens!

If any of you have suggestions of adventures I should go on, let me know! Can’t wait to start exploring…

On my way to Sydney
5 thoughts on “Travel Tuesday The first.

  1. Annabelle schreef:

    Maretje!!!!
    Wat een heerlijk verhaal.
    Ik heb een beetje de kaart van Sydney bekeken en ik denk dat ik wel weer weet waar dat fantastische chocolade winkeltje zat! Het zit ergens aan George steet. Die is natuurlijk tering lang! Maar, als je vanaf de havens omhoog loopt heb je het ergens aan je linkerhand. Dus! Mocht je er rond dwalen, is dit misschien een mooi doel om naar toe te dwalen aangezien je echt in een hemel zal belanden!
    Have fun schat!
    dikke kus Bel

  2. ha die maret,

    het grote genieten kan nu beginnen!!
    maak er een mooi feest van het komende jaar.
    hier ligt een dik pak sneeuw en is het bitter koud. We zijn jaloers op jou zomerse temperaturen. Leuke foto’s van je afscheidfeestje!
    dikke kus C en C

  3. Hey Maret, in Darling Harbour zit ook een Hollandse snack/poffertjeskraam!!! ik weet dat dat nu nog niet zo bijzonder lijkt, maar je gaat die kerel nog respecteren 🙂

    verwacht niet te veel van zijn (zelfgemaakte) frikandellen en kroketjes, maar de poffertjes zijn hard-core XD

    heb je al werkplannen?huisvesting? or are you on the go? mijn huisjesbaas in Bondi is niet meer in business heb ik gehoord, maar probeer een shared house te vinden is mijn tip. Hostels kosten je een rip uit je lijf :S

    maar most of all, be the tourist 🙂 geniet, schiet foto’s, doe je ding. ttyl,grzx

Geef een reactie

