Dharamsala Dreams

Alright, alright, really I was in McLeod Ganj, a small village half an hour away from Dharamsala, as most travellers are when they say they’re staying in Dharamsala. It’s difficult for me to write about this last part of the journey. I don’t know why, maybe it’s got something to do with closing it off. Although it will never be closed in my heart.

McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala, was heaven. A refuge from hectic, insane India. Calm, fresh air, not so many hawkers, beggers, trash, not so many honking vehicles.

I stayed in Dharamsala for a month. Hiking most days, just around the village and even up the mountain to point Triund and beyond. I’ve never been so high up in the sky anywhere in the world. I reached the altitude of over 3000 meters!!

I met beautiful people, creative minds, sincere interest. I saw green hills and white, covered in snow. I met Tibetans that got hurt in their own country, that had fled to a better life in McLeod Ganj, where the Dalai Lama lives as well. I saw protests against inhumanity, which were humbling. I meditated. I still meditate although not as regularly as I’d like to, I think I take it with me everywhere I go. I learnt to love in a different way, see people in a different way and found peace in my own way. It’s been amazing and I wish I could write the feeling down that this place, this month gave me. I wish I could give you, reading this, that same feeling.

These are the pictures of the last “bit” of India I did. There’s many more stories I carry around. I’m sure they’ll end up here sooner or later too.

Dharamsala 2012
Geef een reactie

